Unit 11 – Looking Back

by Irate Wizard

In reflecting on the last few weeks, it might be easier to tell you what I haven’t learned than to list all the new things I have. I started with almost no knowledge. So, we can begin with LAMP, learning what it means, what each letter stands for, what those programs due, and how to use them.

We started by exploring the Command Line. Although I have a long ways to go before I build a home on the CLI, I find myself more and more comfortable in its presence. I have grown to like it, even while knowing I still don’t totally understand it. I see the looks people give me as they walk past my computer in the local library and wonder what on earth I am doing typing these white letters into this black box. There’s something about it that always seems devious and this makes me feel cool. On the other hand, it still scares me and I still feel, after all these weeks, that one false move on the command line will render my computer defunct.

Of all the programs we’ve been exposed to in the past few weeks, I liked building a relational database the most, so I’ll go with MySQL. I liked this part, because it mirrored some of the skills (and a lot of the terminology) I learned last semester in 515 (which I have been reviewing fastidiously in preparation for my GTA in 515 this fall). Vocabulary is something I struggled with all semester, so it was a bit refreshing to see some words I already knew. I also liked working with MySQL as I can see the practical uses for this program, more so than the vagueness of the other letters in LA(M)P.

All in all, there’s a lot of new information swimming around in my brain. Hopefully, some of these terms will become clearer as my studies continue. Only the future can determine if my play-dates with LAMP have come to an end or if I’ve just scratched the surface on what I will one day come to know.

